Book Tour: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom

Thank you so much to Sarah Parker and Turn The Page Tours for including me on the to for To Bleed a Crystal Bloom. Keep scrolling for my review, reactions and an awesome giveaway!

⚠️⚠️⚠️WARNING STRONG LANGUAGE USED IN THIS POST⚠️⚠️⚠️

TITLE: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom
AUTHOR: Sarah A. Parker
PUBLISHER: Self-Published
RELEASE DATE: July 24th, 2021
GENRES: ADULT FICTION—Dark Fantasy, Romance, Retellings > Rapunzel
BUY LINK: click here

CONTENT WARNINGS: drug abuse, animal death, violence and other strong mature themes

Synopsis:

“What a pretty flower to keep locked in a big, rocky tower.”

Nineteen years ago, I was plucked from the heart of a bloody massacre that spared nobody else.

Small. Fragile.

An enigma.

Now ward to a powerful High Master who knows too much and says too little, I lead a simple life, never straying from the confines of an imaginary line I’ve drawn around the castle grounds.

Stay within. Never leave.

Out there, the monsters lurk. Inside, I’m safe … though at a cost far greater than the blood I drip into a goblet daily.

Toxic, unreciprocated love for a man who’s utterly unavailable.

My savior. My protector.

My almost executioner.

I can’t help but be enamored with the arcane man who holds the power to pull my roots from the ground.

When voracious beasts spill across the land and threaten to fray the fabric of my tailored existence, the petals of reality will peel back to reveal an ugly truth. But in a castle puddled with secrets, none are greater than the one I’ve kept from myself.

No tower is tall enough to protect me from the horror that tore my life to shreds.

To Bleed a Crystal Bloom is a dark Rapunzel reimagining full of immersive imagery and breathtaking angst. A unique new fantasy series perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Jennifer L. Armentrout, guaranteed to grip you from the very first page.

Rating

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Review

This will be updated once I’ve completed the book but so far:

I can see why To Bleed a Crystal Bloom is comparable to the works of JLA and SJM, Orlaith (I assume it’s the Irish Pronunciation- Or-lah?!) gives a mix of Poppy (FBAA), Feyre (ACOTAR) and Aelin (ToG) vibes, she’s sassy, inquisitive and impulsive. She’s lived a sheltered life. Whilst Rhordyn gives early ACOTAR evil Rhys vibes! I love sassy females and dark, brooding, deathly male MCs!

Initially, the story starts a little slow. You have the first chapter that hooks you in then it’s slowed down considerably until about 30/35% after which it starts to find its pace!

I love how emotive and immersive this book is, it’s as though you’re living every moment with Orlaith and damn, in some of the more cringey moments (unrequited love is a bitch, right?) I had to put the book down and take a breath.

I’m excited to see how the last bit of the story pans out!

5 Reactions whilst reading

Chapter 17: the secondhand embarrassment is REAL. Holy fuck to the high heavens and back this is fucking AWKWARD

Chapter 21: HOT DAMN, no literally, HOT AND DAMMMMMNNN also- a man that locks a woman in a tower when she’s on her period… own good or not… *sighs* men

Chapter 23: DRAMATICALLY SIGHS WITH EXAGGERATED EYEROLL ughhhhhh MEN.

Chapter 37: THERE ARE TEARS. TEARS I TELL YOU!

Favourite Quotes

So I do what I do best. Because lies are pretty little masks we place on our words to tint the truth into something palatable.

Chapter 3

“Mates, Orlaith, are a fairy tale. A tragedy painted with the pretty face of a happily ever after, but at its core, it’s still a fucking tragedy. If you believe everything you read, you’ll be disappointed when you finally step into the real world.”

Chapter 17

Don’t mind me, feeling kinda attacked after that quote👀

“That’s how you kiss someone you love, Orlaith. Anything less and they aren’t worthy of your heart or the power to break it. Understood?”

Chapter 24

It’s beautiful, I’ve always thought that, but beautiful things don’t always bring you happiness.

Chapter 28

About the author

Sarah is an international bestselling author who also writes under the pen name S.A. Parker.

She lives in Australia with her husband and children, and spends her days with her nose in a book or her mind in a world of her own creation.

Her genre of choice is epic fantasy romance, and she thrives off dreaming up complex characters and immersive worlds to get lost amongst.

International Giveaway

Up for grabs, we have a $50 Amazon Gift Card. This giveaway will be open INTL and will run from August 28th to September 5th at 11:59 PM CST. One winner will be chosen. To enter, click the link below!

Rafflecopter Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d50/?

2 thoughts on “Book Tour: To Bleed a Crystal Bloom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: